Woodworking Block

Our first block of the new year is finishing up.  Parks worked with wood this month.  He received a set of real tools for Christmas that he wanted to put to use!  The cub scout’s pinewood derby was another nice activity that coincided well with this block.  I used the book, “Woodshop for Kids” by Jack McKee as my starting point.   The author’s introduction explains how to simplify activities and to trust children with real tools.

Then, Parks and I went to the library to get books on tools.  We also looked on Pinterest and through the Woodshop for Kids book together looking for activities.  He chose to make the marble maze, a balloon powered boat, and a top.  I went through the marble maze in a previous post.  Parks and his grand-dad worked on the balloon powered boat this week.  While they were working, I ran the other two kiddos to a class.  When I arrived home, this is what I saw in my kitchen.  LOL.

No one was around but I did hear them in the bathroom.  My first thought, “Ah man, someone cut themselves with the saw!”  Thankfully, I was completely wrong.  They were in the bathroom filling up the tub to run the boat!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The top was an easy and fun project.  Parks simply cut a dowel and inserted it into a wooden wheel.  It works beautifully and will be even prettier when he finishes painting it!

Top

Of course our lives wouldn’t be right if we didn’t have a spontaneous activity happen that fit within the block!  One afternoon this past week, we attended a class at Latta.  While we were there, one of the staff was cutting bamboo into small pieces in preparation for the Fairy Festival happening in a week.  He gave the kids a lesson on splitting bamboo with a machete, cutting bamboo with a hacksaw and cleaning out the inside.  Each child made a bamboo cup that they have been using all week.

All in all, I believe Parks enjoyed woodworking.  He is ready to work on his own-at least, in his own mind.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Woodworking Block

  1. How great to be teaching woodworking at such a young age. I grew up watching my father in his amazing studio create wooden trains and nut crackers. His studio was a magical place for me as a child, and undoubtedly made an impression on me as I slowly came to my own art.

    Thank you for the share, looking forward to seeing their progress!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment