Homeschooling Ideas for a Reader

homeschooling for a reader

I am amazed at how different children can be-especially siblings!  Earlier I posted some of our ideas on homeschooling a child with dyslexia.  Today I am going to post on some of our ideas on homeschooling a child who doesn’t want to stop reading!  My daughter is a reader.  She loves to read.  We have to constantly tell her to put the book down to get out of the car, to walk into the store so she won’t walk into anyone, to go to bed….you get the idea.  She always has a book in her hand.  Yes, the fact that she loves to read is awesome-however, it can also make homeschooling a challenge.

Reading, spelling and grammar are not really major areas of concern.  She is an amazing speller but I continue her spelling program to reinforce what she knows from reading.  She reads amazingly well.  I do continue to have her read aloud for at least a few minutes each day.  Grammar is interesting.  If she sees a page that has improper grammar, she can spot it quickly (she is a good editor); however, grammar does not come naturally when she writes.  Thus, most of her grammar I have her fix.  She writes a paragraph.   I have her take a break from it and come back to it the next day.  She then edits her own errors and does fairly well.  If she does not take a break, she doesn’t slow down and edit properly.

Math: How do you get a child who likes to read to do math?  Find math story books!  Our favorite series is the Life of Fred series.  All of my children read through the books; however, Sawyer reads them, works the problems and then redoes each book.  She LOVES Life of Fred!  The stories are funny and relevant.

Science and History:  Another area that I have to be very inventive.  I have stated in the past that I am a very eclectic homeschooling teacher.  We mainly use the Waldorf approach but in this case we use as many living books as possible (more of a Charlotte Mason method).  Living books are simply books that children can relate to.  Living books tell a story that becomes real and that you can feel like you are living.  For example, this year one of Sawyer’s blocks included Judaism.  She read books on Judaism but she did it begrudgingly.  I also had her read The American Girl Series Rebecca.  Rebecca is a little girl who grew up NYC and her family is Jewish.  Sawyer learned exactly what I wanted her to learn.  She learned how Judaism effects a person’s everyday life and the historical events that are celebrated throughout the year by people of the Jewish faith.  Finding living books that relate to what you are trying to teach can be a challenge but it is doable (I actually found one about a family that harvests silk worms during our textile block-that took a lot of researching!).

Organization: Now it may just be my reader that is completely disorganized but I hear from other parents that organization is an issue for their readers as well.  When Sawyer begins reading, she does not stop (a good thing right?  not when you are trying to do school work!).  We use the timer on the microwave a lot.  She can read first thing after breakfast for 30 minutes.  The timer is terrific for a lot of things.  We use it to limit her time reading during school time and as a motivator for activities that she does not want to do.  We set the timer for 10 or 15 minutes.  She sees the time going by and she is able to continue with grammar or spelling.  Getting through all of her work in a day can be a challenge as well.  I am still working on this one and am open for suggestions..smile.  We tried a daily workplan, a weekly workplan, a workbox type of system in which she moved a card from needs to be done to the done side and simply me asking her what she has completed.  I saw on a post recently (I cannot remember where so I cannot give them the credit right now, but if I figure out I will) a method with clothes pins in a jar.  The clothes pins are snapped around the top of the jar and as the activity is complete, the clothes pin is dropped into the jar.  I may give this a try this year along with a timer.

What about pesky papers?  We use our main lesson books to place all papers into.  Papers are glued, taped or stapled into the book right after it is completed.  This includes the wonderful art work that used to be floating around the house.  Once a week, she goes through her cubby to declutter.  Again, this is still a work in progress.  As she gets older and more independent, paper organization and time management will become more important goals (these will be in her goal list for this next year).

Do you have a reader?  I love suggestions!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Homeschooling Ideas for a Reader

  1. My little reader had the interesting problem of reading comprehension. She could recite every fact and detail of every book, name every character, but not understand the implications of unstated facts. This became a problem with some of her standardized testing results. We had to practice looking at the “why” in some situations and getting her to look for implied meaning. Just something to watch for!

    Like

    • Most definitely! Terrific point. When she reads on her own, I just let her read. When she reads for “school,” we discuss the plots and the problems. She also writes a synopsis of what she has read without using the book-in her own words, I guess is a better way of stating it. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  2. I have a reader too! I have no suggestions, but I got a lot of ideas! My problem is as soon as she wakes up she starts reading. And it’s hard to pull her away to eat, get ready, and start school. It is mostly my issue because I was a reader, and I HATED being pulled out of a book. So I feel bad pulling her out of a book and don’t do it like I should.

    Like

  3. My daughters are both readers. They love to read. My son, not so much. So if you have any ideas for boys, let me know. My oldest loves to read, and she is very messy. Always has been. She’s older, so it may not be until she’s out on her own that she’ll learn to clean up after herself. My younger daughter is a big reader, but she’s neat….except when it comes to her books. She can’t just take one book out of her bookshelf. She takes 3, 4 or 5 books out. And then she’ll stack them all sideways on top of the ones that are staked upright on her shelf. Ughh! Now she’s the one that also struggles with comprehension. We’ve found some books written by homeschoolers about homeschoolers at homeschoolLiterature.com that we’re going to read together over the summer. That will be my focus this summer: comprehension.

    Like

    • LOL! My boys love books but they don’t want to actually read them so we use audiobooks. I want them to have the language and to use their imaginations to envision the characters and the action.
      My daughter is never reading just one book. I do find that if she reads it too fast that her comprehension is not quite as good. Books for school are read much slower on purpose. She always asks if she can read ahead. I usually tell her yes but that we are going to read it again together focusing on only one or two chapters at a time. I will check out that website. I haven’t heard of it. Thank you.

      Like

  4. In Homeschooling, you can choose activities that your kids should do, as well as programs they should join. They can develop their skills and be more exposed with a large group of people – and that is perfect for improving their confidence.

    To build homeschoolers reading vocabularies while simultaneously strengthening their reading, critical thinking, and writing skills – http://www.HomeschoolingOption.com/

    Anne

    Like

Leave a Reply

