February 2019 Wrap Up

I promise-we are still around.  It was February.  February is a rough month for me so I don’t get to all of my extra stuff.  I have to really focus to just get through life.  February remained fairly simple.

We finished up our first two courses in 4H for the year-financial planning and sculpture. I wrote a blog on financial planning.  The sculpture class turned out amazing as well.  We (the administrators of our program) were worried about doing an art class because we did not have an art teacher.  Lucky for us, one of the parents popped in.  He casually mentioned that he has a degree in sculpture!  He did an excellent job.  We ended the block with a field trip to Davidson College.  The college has a nice collection of outdoor sculptures.  I put together a scavenger hunt requiring the kids to find each one and answer a question about it.  I was a little worried initially, but it turned out perfect.  Actually, it turned out even better than I had imagined.  The kids took their time and studied each sculpture.  They came up with some fantastic thoughts on each one.

Our next block in 4H was cooking.  The kids learned about chemistry in cooking (fermentation and using bacteria), leavened vs unleavened bread, and how culture/geography influences cooking.

Back at home, we started back in on US history looking at westward expansion.  Everyone is working away at math, writing, and science individually. Maybe now that February is over, I can get back on track with the weekly wrap ups!

 

2 thoughts on “February 2019 Wrap Up

Leave a comment