Taproot Teacher Training 2017

Last August, I attended the 2016 Taproot Teacher Training hosted by Barbara Dewey and Jean Miller in Ohio.  I had no idea how life changing the experience would be.  Eight months later, I still refer back to my notes and think about the weekend.

Why do I bring up this training class now?  Well, registration for the 2017 Taproot Teacher Training is up!  I highly recommend this training!

If you think:

I am not a 100% follower of the Waldorf homeschooling method.  Well, neither am I.  I like the feel of Waldorf.  I like the way the information is taught through stories.  Humans have used stories for centuries.  We learn so much from stories.  I love the way creativity is weaved into the lessons.  I use pieces of the Waldorf method everyday, but I am far from 100% Waldorf.  This was probably my number one concern about attending, but I am so glad that I did not let it stop me.

It is too far.  I thought that too, but the drive was amazingly peaceful.  How long has it been since you got to drive in your car by yourself?  Listening to your own music?  Ohio is also surprisingly beautiful.

It is too expensive.  The weekend is worth every penny.  I gained an amazing education AND had fantastic accommodations, food, fellowship, and relaxation.

Most home school education activities push you to purchase their curriculum.  Nope.  There is no pressure here to purchase anything.  In fact, I went home with the courage to find books to use as my curriculum instead of purchasing.  I spent less on curriculum this year than I ever have!  I felt empowered to trust my own judgments on the stories I chose to support the lessons.

I have not received any compensation for writing this page.  I simply believe in this workshop!  You can read about my experience last year on this page.

If you are interested and/or have any questions, check out the Taproot Teacher Training website! 

 

4 thoughts on “Taproot Teacher Training 2017

  1. I jumped on your blog to let you know that I was trying to email you and it keeps bouncing – and I found this post encouraging people to go to Taproot! Thanks so much:) People like you coming to Taproot are a big part of why it is so special:) Of course, I was emailing you about Taproot – can you send me your email …alisonmanzer@hotmail.com ? I am looking forward to being in touch and to seeing you this summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

