Finding our Community

My mom nailed it today.

The kids and I spent the day at the barn yesterday and today.  We worked on pulling wire out of places that wire shouldn’t be, cleaning stalls, moving fences, putting up fences, and clearing pastures of debris from a recent wind storm.  The kids had a blast.  They moved the horses as needed, hung out with the other kids and WORKED.

My mom came up our way and asked what we were up too.  Unfortunately, we were not free to come by to see my mom and dad.  However, we were engrossed in our activity and having a blast.  When I spoke with my mom, she said, “Well, that is what you wanted, right?  A community for your kids to feel a part of?”

Wow!  Yes.  I have been trying to find a community for my kids to feel a part of.  We have lots of friends.  However, we are not really a part of a community or at least I did not think we were, but my mom is completely correct.  My kids totally feel at home at the barn (we don’t even have a horse).  They have a feeling of ownership there.  They love seeing positive change at the barn and things such as the joy of the horses when they get a new pasture.  I love watching them work with others and being a part of something bigger than themselves.  They get nothing from helping out.  NOTHING!  They simply enjoy the community.

February is a rough month for us each year.  Thank goodness for March and beautiful cool days and community.  I hope you all had a terrific Saturday as well!

 

5 thoughts on “Finding our Community

  1. I rode horses for 15 years, and sometimes I find that I’m still learning lessons from them though over the past few years I’ve not had the chance to ride at all. Included in those lessons are those of community, because they take so much work to take care of. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Yes, I have learned a ton from the horses too. I do not ride (although hopefully one day I will). Handling the horses on the ground, watching them interact with each other, and watching them with riders-amazing everything I have learned about life! And oh yes, they are a lot of work-which is why we don’t have one ourselves! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

