Lessons Learned the Hardway: Fire

I have stubborn children-children that must learn some lessons on their own (I have no idea where they get it from).  Fortunately for us-up to this point in time, no one has seriously gotten harmed.  However, we have had some close calls already this year!

First up-Fire!  As many of you know, my oldest son lives for fire.  He wanted to be a fireman at the ripe old age of 2.  The feeling has intensified.  In fact, now he aspires to be a smoke jumper or an ER doctor.  He feels very confident around fire.  I am sure you have seen in previous posts pictures of him around the fire in our backyard.  He is always the first person to ask about making a fire whenever we are outside and it is a bit chilly or there are marshmallows in the house.

Recently, he and fire met for real.  We went to a friend’s house to go out for a hike.  Near their home, a controlled fire smoldered.  Of course, my fire-loving child desired to investigate further.  Cautiously, he went to look at the smoking pile. In one step, the ground under him shifted (most likely because it was recently on fire!) and his foot went down into a hole.  Luckily, he has excellent balance and he avoided a full body fall into the fire.

So we headed out on our hike.  He asked if we could stop for a second because he had something in his shoe.  Of course, we stopped while he took off his boot to shake it out.  Meanwhile, I notice a hole in his brand new socks.  I asked him if he knew what happened to his sock.  Of course, he had no idea but he did tell me the story above.  I immediately asked him to remove his sock so that we could look at his foot.

Second and third degree burn.

Second and third degree burn.

Uhm…yep.  No hike but a fun trip to the ER and a very important lesson learned.

7 thoughts on “Lessons Learned the Hardway: Fire

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry he got burnt. 😦 After 40 years of being insatiably curious and not knowing when to stop poking things with sticks, I understand all too well that these are the prices we pay sometimes. (I’ve had my fair share of burns, cuts, bites, etc.) I hope it increases his wisdom…and his respect for fire, but doesn’t put him off one of his interests. I hope it heals quickly!

    Like

  2. Holy crap!! That’s crazy that he didn’t even notice or complain, except for thinking there was something in his shoe! I would never think about the area near a controlled burn on the ground being dangerous in that way either… Good detective work mom! When you figure out where they get the “stubborn” be sure to let us know! Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

