One LONG Afternoon

You know that horrible feeling that you get right in the pit of your stomach as you watch some thing “bad” about to happen and there is nothing that you can do about it?

I had that today for about 3 hours.  Today was testing day in the house.  In NC,  home schoolers are required to conduct some type of standardized test one time per year.  We do ours in April each year and today was the day.  All three kiddos sat at the kitchen table with the test administrator.  He was wonderful.  He was calm and candid at all of the right times.  I sat on the couch within earshot of the kitchen table “reading” my book.

We have the kids assessed using the Woodcock Johnson.  It is a fairly straight forward assessment, and one that we have used all three years.  As I sat listening to the kids answer the questions aloud, all I can do is hold my breath and laugh.  In my head, “I know you know how to spell that….you know exactly what that symbol is….what do you mean you do not know what that coin is?  You pay for things using your own money all the time and you know exactly what you are paying with.”  I despise this day.  I know the kids don’t love it either.

The worst part is that I look at the results more as a reflection on how I am teaching.  I know that I should not do this.  I also know that the results only show a snippet of each child.  I do, however, take the results and reflect on the year and what we can work on the following year.  None of the results wowed me or surprised me.  They were fairly close to my assumptions as to where each child score which I suppose is good.  No surprises means that I do know my kids and hopefully, we can keep using each other’s strengths to work on our weaknesses.

Do you have to give end of year tests in your homeschool?  If you do, what do you do with the results?

 

 

4 thoughts on “One LONG Afternoon

  1. Haha, aww – I laugh empathetically! 😉 I always think my teaching ability is being “graded” by these tests too. 😛
    We only have to do them at the end of 3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th grades. The results go on file in our records, and no one even sees them. 🙄 I just take the areas I see a weakness in and focus on them more in the future. 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes, we just finished ours! I don’t think they’d do anything about them in SD unless they did very poorly and there were complaints against the family. So I don’t worry too much, but like you, this last week I was like, “What!!!! You knew that word! It was a spelling word last week!” It’s hard to sit and watch those mistakes you know they know, isn’t it! They usually reflect my kids abilities fairly well, and I get a bit disgruntled to have to waste 3 days on them of school. LOL! You know we accomplish SO much in 3 days. (Kind of joking!) Yours sound a little different because you maybe had an administrator come in the house? Did I understand correctly?

    Like

    • We can give any type of standardised test. I choose one that requires an educator or a psychologist to administer. So yes, I had someone come to the house but it is not required. I can’t imagine doing it for three days! Wow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

