“Water, taken in moderation, cannot hurt anybody.” Mark Twain

Today is my official birthday; however, each year I get a special day on the lake.  This year, my special day was Monday.  The kids went to the grandparents and we headed out on the lake.

Each year, we try to head up the Catawba River on jet skis.  I love this trip.  We begin in the large homes and large inland sea of Lake Norman.  I grew up on this lake.  It has changed quite a bit in my 36 years.  Its shorelines are now covered in large homes with big windows and docks to match.  Each summer, we explore to see what is new.

Then we head North up the Catawba River into the northern part of Lake Norman.  This area is beautiful.  The shoreline is green and natural.  I have a few favorite stops along the ride and this area is one of them because it has the best rope swing.  Yes, even as an adult I am a sucker for a rope swing.  However, this year the rope swing was dismantled.  The tree was cut down-most likely due to liability.

P1030846

Rope swing tree cut down

Rope swing tree cut down

So up the river we went on to our next stop-the lily pad field.  This is a little cove off of the main part of the river that gets filled with lily pads each year (in fact, this is the picture on my gravatar).  Typically, this area is in full bloom and filled with lily pads.  Well, I am not sure how many of you have heard on the news, but here in NC we are having massive flooding.  Our area is also getting hit.  In years past, we worried about the field due to lack of water.  This year, the field was filled with water!  The lily pads, if they ever did bloomed, were flooded over.  The “field” is now just another cove.

As we played frogger moving down the river, we saw the effects of too much water over and over.  People lost parts of their docks.  Trash filled the river and trees floated down the river.  As we approached our final destination on the river, the dam, we were amazed by the fast water running over.  We actually had to go against the current to make it up close to the dam.

Notice anything missing from this dock?

Notice anything missing from this dock?

The dam

The dam

Cow field this year

Cow field this year

Cow field this year

Cow field this year

Tree floating in the river

Tree floating in the river

Cow field this year

Cow field this year

Year to year, it is amazing to see how much one area can change.  In Monday’s case, the change was simply due to more water than normal.  So as I move into another year of life, I will keep in mind to stay moderate so as not to thirst for to be flooded by any one thing, person or activity.

My hubby and I

My hubby and I

A beautiful ending to the day!

A beautiful ending to the day!

4 thoughts on ““Water, taken in moderation, cannot hurt anybody.” Mark Twain

  1. I also grew up on this lake. I remember visits with you when we were kids! I think you taught me how to waterski since my dad only believed in sailboats:) It is amazing to see how brown the water is. I am getting spoiled by glacial fed lakes in Montana and Norway where you can see straight to the bottom…but they are COLD! Thank you for sharing photos that bring back some great childhood memories!

    Like

    • The water is not typically that brown- in fact, I have not ever seen it that color. The flooding has brought in a lot of run off and mud. Glad you enjoyed the pics. Yes, it was fun as kids sailing and waterskiing. :).

      Like

Leave a Reply

