Celebrating our Life, Liberty and Pursuit of Happiness

Happy Independence Day!

The US celebrates Its independence on July4th each year.  This year we spent the day as we do most Independence Days-hanging out on the lake with friends.  The other common part of the celebration for us in NC is combatting torrential down pours.  Thank goodness for good friends who stick around-even in the rain.

Over the two days, I had to laugh about some of the conversation on homeschooling.  I was on the other side of the conversation from where I was two years ago.  Two years ago, our family began homeschooling on a whim out of necessity.  At that time, there was also a part time position that opened up in outpatient pediatric therapy-something that doesn’t come up too often close to home.  The job was exactly what I had been looking for.  I tried to figure out how to homeschool through to the end of the year, work part time and figure out which school would work for the following year.  Well, when things appear too good to be true, they usually are.  Needless to say, the job in addition to homeschooling did not work out.  I quit the job and you all know the rest of the story.

Throughout this time, I had many conversations with my friends and hubby about the situation.  How do I give up my “dream job?”  I am not a teacher.  What if I am not able to actually teach our kids what they need?  (I know how to be a pediatric therapist, and I am confident in my skills.)  Everyone was very confident in my ability to homeschool.  Our family was already seeing the benefits for the kids.  It was I who was having the difficult time committing to it.

This week, I got to be on the listening end.  A family friend is limbo between working and homeschooling.  I love what I do, but I do not want to romanticize it.  Throughout the conversation, I could feel where she is in her journey.  Can we give the kids all of the opportunities we want them to have?  What happens if the teacher doesn’t work out this year in school?  How will my family transition from having an available mom to one who is not quite so available?  It is such a tough spot.  (Please realize that we both realize how lucky we are that we have the option to homeschool.)

I know we are not the only ones who have experienced this dilemma.  Many moms and dads who homeschool or who have thought of homeschooling have experienced it.  There is no wrong or right answer.  Ha, many times-as in my case, I believe the universe made my decision for me.  For those of you in limbo during this month before traditional schools begin know that -yes, it will be hard; yes, you can do it; yes, you can change your mind; no, they will not get so behind that they will not be able to return to a school setting; and finally, there is no wrong or right way to teach your kids.

For those of you who have been in this situation-whether you chose to go to work or to homeschool, do you have any advice for those in limbo?

Leave a Reply

