Outdoor Adventures

Throughout the year, we try to spend a good amount of time outdoors (actually, I think I have a more difficult time getting the kids to come indoors).  This year we have found some new loves including hiking and camping and continued many of our old loves such as mountain biking and paddling.

So why should the summer be any different?  Well, typically in the summer the kids get to pick a local camp or two to attend.  We are very fortunate to have some terrific local camps in our area.  We are also fortunate to live within a short drive to the U.S. National Whitewater Center.  So what does that have to do with summer?  A lot for us this summer!  We gave the kids an option to go to camp or to get passes to the center and they all three chose the passes!

We have been about four times so far.  The place is amazing.  Many of you know that I have a love of parks and recreation.  I love the results of ropes courses, rock climbing and adventure courses.  In a short time, I have seen my kids gain confidence in themselves and their skills.  They become a terrific team and cheerleaders for each other.  They have conquered most of the obstacles.  I have truly enjoyed watching my older ones become leaders and teachers to help the younger ones problem solve the situations.  So far each day has proved to be fun and physically exhausting!  I highly recommend you try a ropes course with your family if you ever get the opportunity!

IMG_1849 IMG_1850 IMG_1856 P1060157 P1060181 P1060182 P1060184 P1060188

2 thoughts on “Outdoor Adventures

  1. Wow!!! I love the ropes course. This is definitely a confidence building activity that I’ll bring my daughter to once she is older. Looks like this is going to be a fun summer for your family 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

