Our first full year officially over!

Celebration of life cake Two of my kiddos! The fort in the making Mission accomplished Parade watchingCan you believe that not only have I been blogging(for the first time in my life) for one full year this week, but also officially homeschooling for one full year?!

For me, it is hard to imagine that it has been a year.  Although, when I think about this time last year and the stress we were under-I can believe it has been a year.  We are in such a different place.  We have learned so much about the world around us and each other.  I also realize how much more there is out there for us to experience.

I have thoroughly enjoyed the past year in my new role-even with the craziness that comes with it.  My house is always a wreck.  There is almost always laundry that needs to be folded.  Every week, at least once, I lose my mind due to the constant noise in the house.  I realize now how much more I should have appreciated nap time! I miss my friends tremendously!!!

On the flip side, I do not feel the stress of always being late to be somewhere.  I get to see my children learning and living.  I see my children grow in front of my eyes.  We are experiencing new things daily.  I am meeting some wonderful and amazing people as are my children.  I am learning to be more patient and to appreciate nature in a way I never did before.  I realize even more how important yoga is to my life.  I am reading the classics (check out my previous post of dyslexia) and loving them.

I knew that homeschooling was the best option for my children.  I felt it calling us.  I did not, however, expect homeschooling to be the best option for myself.  I did not realize all of the benefits that I would experience from it also.  (Although, sometimes I do question this.  As I am writing, my boys are trying to convince me to light a fire in the back yard so that they can cook over an open flame.  I am assuming that this is in thanks to my friends over a Latta….smile).   I have opened a new chapter in my life and I am loving it.  I always thought that my passion would remain in pediatric physical therapy.  I was wrong.  I still enjoy being a therapist and all that I learned.  However, I believe that I have found a new passion in my children and helping them to discover the power of having a passion in their lives.

5 thoughts on “Our first full year officially over!

  1. Before we started homeschooling a friend of mine who was a nanny would bring the baby she watches over to play with Scarlett while we got to catch up. We tried it a couple of times this year (to catch up while Mary worked on something independently, or with both of us helping) and it was a DISASTER, lol. I was just thinking the other day about how much I miss some of the freedom I used to have – but I totally agree with you. Worth it, a thousand times over!

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog and congratulations on your first year of blogging and homeschooling!!! I look forward to reading more of your posts! Cherie’

    Like

Leave a Reply

