Encoding Breakthroughs!

I haven’t gone away. I am just taking a short break from blogging on this site. However, I did need to take a moment to brag on my boy today.

As you know, spelling is one of the toughest lessons for Sims each day. This year we changed curriculums from All About Spelling to Apples and Pears by Sound Foundations. All About Spelling worked well for him during spelling, but there was not any carry over into other subjects. I heard about Apples and Pears from a forum on homeschooling children with dyslexia. The program appears to Sims to have no rhyme or reason to it, but it does.

The curriculum also requires a lot more writing each day than what he was used to. I didn’t think he would be to keen on it, but he is. He happily does it everyday (in fact, he has finished the first book and is way on his way to finishing the second book). On top of Apples and Pears, I added another spelling curriculum called MegaWords. Apples and Pears is very teacher intensive, which he needs. MegaWords has more independent work for the student to do.

Well, today-he did his MegaWords book (actually, he did two more pages than what I assigned), a lesson with me from Apples and Pears and tonight-he actually asked me to dictate the words for him in his MegaWords book so that could move forward in the book tomorrow! Yep, three spelling lessons in one day!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2livelovelearn
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 06:43:45

    Thank you so much for this post! My son struggles with this as well and I really haven’t found a spelling curriculum that works. I’m definitely going to look into this. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • lakenormanprep
      Feb 09, 2014 @ 13:37:09

      I am glad it helped! I read about it on a forum and it has been a break through for us. Sight word spelling is carrying over 100% and other words much more than before. The biggest piece is that he enjoys doing it and seeing the progress.

      Reply

  2. Luvley Ladybug
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 06:30:49

    Wow what a great spelling resource- thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

